Subscribe free to our newsletters via your
. 24/7 Space News .

NASA, Space Station Partners Announce Future Mission Crew Members
by Staff Writers
Washington DC (SPX) Feb 12, 2015

(Top left to bottom right) Expedition 48: Jeff Williams, NASA, Alexey Ovchinin, Russian Federal Space Agency (Roscosmos), and Oleg Skripochka, Roscosmos. Expedition 48/49: Kate Rubins, NASA, Anatoly Ivanishin, Roscosmos, and Takuya Onishi, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA). Expedition 49/50: Shane Kimbrough, NASA, Andrey Borisenko, Roscosmos, and Sergey Ryzhikov, Roscosmos. Expedition 50: Peggy Whitson, NASA, Oleg Novitskiy, Roscosmos, and Thomas Pesquet, European Space Agency. Image courtesy NASA/ESA/JAXA. For a larger version of this image please go here.

NASA and its International Space Station partners have announced the crew members, including NASA astronauts Kate Rubins, Shane Kimbrough and Peggy Whitson, for three upcoming missions to the space station.

Rubins will be the first of the three with her mission beginning in May 2016, when she will join the station's Expedition 48 crew already in orbit. Selected to become an astronaut in 2009, this will be her first trip into space. Rubins was born in Farmington, Connecticut, and grew up in Napa, California. She holds a doctorate in cancer biology from Stanford.

Kimbrough, born in Killeen, Texas, and raised in Atlanta, is a retired U.S. Army colonel. He previously flew aboard space shuttle Endeavour during its STS-126 mission in 2008. Kimbrough has spent almost 16 days in space and accumulated 12 hours and 52 minutes on spacewalks.

Whitson, an Iowa native born in Mt. Ayr and raised in Beaconsfield, holds a doctorate in biochemistry from Rice University. She completed two six-month tours of duty aboard the space station, the second as its first female commander. She has spent 377 days in space between the two missions. Whitson also has performed six spacewalks, totaling 39 hours and 46 minutes.

The crew comprising Expedition 48 will be:

+ Jeff Williams, NASA

+ Alexey Ovchinin, Russian Federal Space Agency (Roscosmos)

+ Oleg Skripochka, Roscosmos

+ Kate Rubins, NASA

+ Anatoly Ivanishin, Roscosmos

+ Takuya Onishi, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)

The crew comprising Expedition 49 will be:

+ Anatoly Ivanishin, Roscosmos

+ Kate Rubins, NASA

+ Takuya Onishi, JAXA

+ Shane Kimbrough, NASA

+ Andrey Borisenko, Roscosmos

+ Sergey Ryzhikov, Roscosmos

The crew comprising Expedition 50 will be:

+ Shane Kimbrough, NASA

+ Andrey Borisenko, Roscosmos

+ Sergey Ryzhikov, Roscosmos

+ Peggy Whitson, NASA

+ Oleg Novitskiy, Roscosmos

+ Thomas Pesquet, European Space Agency

Thanks for being here;
We need your help. The SpaceDaily news network continues to grow but revenues have never been harder to maintain.

With the rise of Ad Blockers, and Facebook - our traditional revenue sources via quality network advertising continues to decline. And unlike so many other news sites, we don't have a paywall - with those annoying usernames and passwords.

Our news coverage takes time and effort to publish 365 days a year.

If you find our news sites informative and useful then please consider becoming a regular supporter or for now make a one off contribution.

SpaceDaily Contributor
$5 Billed Once

credit card or paypal
SpaceDaily Monthly Supporter
$5 Billed Monthly

paypal only


Related Links
Astronaut biographical information
Station at NASA
Station and More at Roscosmos
S.P. Korolev RSC Energia
Watch NASA TV via Space.TV
Space Station News at Space-Travel.Com

Comment on this article via your Facebook, Yahoo, AOL, Hotmail login.

Share this article via these popular social media networks DiggDigg RedditReddit GoogleGoogle

Memory Foam Mattress Review
Newsletters :: SpaceDaily :: SpaceWar :: TerraDaily :: Energy Daily
XML Feeds :: Space News :: Earth News :: War News :: Solar Energy News

Camera to record doomed ATV's disintegration - from inside
Paris (ESA) Feb 11, 2015
Next Monday, ESA astronaut Samantha Christoforetti will float into Europe's space ferry to install a special infrared camera, set to capture unique interior views of the spacecraft's break-up on reentry. "The battery-powered camera will be trained on the Automated Transfer Vehicle's forward hatch, and will record the shifting temperatures of the scene before it," explains Neil Murray, over ... read more

Application of laser microprobe technology to Apollo samples refines lunar impact history

NASA releases video of the far side of the Moon

US Issuing Licenses for Mineral Mining on Moon

LRO finds lunar hydrogen more abundant on Moon's pole-facing slopes

Scientists fail to explain strange plumes spotted on Martian surface

NASA's Curiosity Analyzing Sample of Martian Mountain

Mars Rover Nearing Marathon Achievement

NASA's Curiosity Analyzing Sample of Martian Mountain

Critical NASA Science Returns to Earth aboard SpaceX Dragon Spacecraft

Industry: Risk aversion costs more than 'fast failure'

45th Space Wing, SpaceX sign first-ever landing pad agreement at the Cape

Russian research team explores vision complications for astronauts

More Astronauts for China

China launches the FY-2 08 meteorological satellite successfully

China's Long March puts satellite in orbit on 200th launch

Countdown to China's new space programs begins

NASA, Space Station Partners Announce Future Mission Crew Members

Europe destroys last space truck to ISS

Camera to record doomed ATV's disintegration - from inside

ATV to bid farewell to Space Station for last time

SpaceX launches deep-space weather observatory

Soyuz Installed at Baikonur, Expected to Launch Wednesday

SpaceX cargo craft returns to Earth

High seas force SpaceX to ditch bid to recycle rocket

Scientists predict earth-like planets around most stars

"Vulcan Planets" - Inside-Out Formation of Super-Earths

Dawn ahead!

Habitable Evaporated Cores

Saab producing components, sub-systems for Marine Corps radar

Cosmic "Reionization" Is More Recent than Predicted

DSCOVR: Mission Success for Moog Engines Over a Decade Later

Measurement of key molecule increases accuracy of combustion models

The content herein, unless otherwise known to be public domain, are Copyright 1995-2014 - Space Media Network. All websites are published in Australia and are solely subject to Australian law and governed by Fair Use principals for news reporting and research purposes. AFP, UPI and IANS news wire stories are copyright Agence France-Presse, United Press International and Indo-Asia News Service. ESA news reports are copyright European Space Agency. All NASA sourced material is public domain. Additional copyrights may apply in whole or part to other bona fide parties. Advertising does not imply endorsement, agreement or approval of any opinions, statements or information provided by Space Media Network on any Web page published or hosted by Space Media Network. Privacy Statement All images and articles appearing on Space Media Network have been edited or digitally altered in some way. Any requests to remove copyright material will be acted upon in a timely and appropriate manner. Any attempt to extort money from Space Media Network will be ignored and reported to Australian Law Enforcement Agencies as a potential case of financial fraud involving the use of a telephonic carriage device or postal service.